In 2013, South Dakota State University (SDSU) established the Great Plains Emerging Tribal Writer Award to encourage the development of American Indian writers who are in the early phases of their writing careers.

Previous winners of the award are:

2017: Jessie Taken Alive-Rencountre

2016: Cliff Taylor

2015: Ernest Weston, Jr.

2014: Marcus Bear Eagle

2013: Taté Walker

%d bloggers like this: